[ANSWERED] undefined query parameter on load in 2.1.3

Our state of the art Gantt chart


Post Reply
User avatar
Jerther
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:29 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

[ANSWERED] undefined query parameter on load in 2.1.3

Post by Jerther »

Here's how to reproduce. Just load the Basic demo while watching for the load query in the network monitor. Here's what it does:

Code: Select all

Request URL: https://www.bryntum.com/examples/gantt/_datasets/launch-saas.json?undefined=%7B%22type%22%3A%22load%22%2C%22requestId%22%3A15894808349900%2C%22stores%22%3A%5B%22timeRanges%22%2C%22calendars%22%2C%22tasks%22%2C%22dependencies%22%2C%22resources%22%2C%22assignments%22%5D%7D

I'm pretty sure the "undefined" parameter shouldn't be there ;)

Last edited by Jerther on Mon May 25, 2020 2:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
alex.l
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2020 1:56 pm

Re: [INFO REQ] undefined query parameter on load in 2.1.3

Post by alex.l »

Hi Jerther,

Thanks for the report! I've opened a ticket: https://github.com/bryntum/support/issues/772

All best,
Alex

User avatar
Jerther
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:29 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: [INFO REQ] undefined query parameter on load in 2.1.3

Post by Jerther »

Hi Alex,

I see Mats has fixed this in 2.1.4. There is still a parameter, only it's now named "data":

Code: Select all

Request URL: http://127.0.0.1:8887/data.json?data=%7B%22type%22%3A%22load%22%2C%22requestId%22%3A15899021387320%2C%22stores%22%3A%5B%22timeRanges%22%2C%22calendars%22%2C%22tasks%22%2C%22dependencies%22%2C%22resources%22%2C%22assignments%22%5D%7D
I understand this is urlencoded data corresponding to the load request structure described in the doc. However, there was no query parameter whatsoever in 2.1.2. Was this parameter supposed to be there all along? What did I miss! :?

User avatar
arcady
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 2326
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:57 am

Re: [INFO REQ] undefined query parameter on load in 2.1.3

Post by arcady »

Yes there was no parameter previously if you don't provide paramName config. Before that fix we used HTTP request body to pass the load request in such cases.

But using of body for GET HTTP requests is not recommended so we decided to change that behaviour.
So starting from this release if you use GET method then the request data is passed in a URL parameter.

Do you want to use GET request body to pass load requests?

User avatar
Jerther
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:29 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: [INFO REQ] undefined query parameter on load in 2.1.3

Post by Jerther »

Yes I'd prefer to use GET for the load request. I understand the "data" query parameter is there to stay this time so I'll add support for it.

Thanks for the detailed explanation!

One last thing though. If I have to properly implement the load request, I'd better do it right. In the doc, about the "stores", it is said "they can be represented with an object to pass additional parameters." Is there a complete list of the possible parameters that Bryntum Gantt might use (like "append" or "page"?)

User avatar
pmiklashevich
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 2725
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:08 am

Re: [INFO REQ] undefined query parameter on load in 2.1.3

Post by pmiklashevich »

Hello,

Thanks for your feedback! We will review and update our docs: https://github.com/bryntum/support/issues/824

Cheers,
Pavel
Pavel Miklashevich - Core Developer

Post Reply