Increase time resolution of resource histogram

Discuss issues related to v4.x
Post Reply
User avatar
Jeff Bevan
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 2:02 pm

Increase time resolution of resource histogram

Post by Jeff Bevan » Thu Mar 16, 2017 10:13 am

Hi
We have been using the Gantt chart (v4.2.4) successfully for sometime within our application :D We allow tasks to be created to the accuracy of a quarter of an hour. Yesterday we had a go at putting a resource histogram under the chart. This has worked but it does not allocate resource at the same quarter of an hour resolution we need.

It seems that the resource level is calculated for a daily allocation. Is is possible to show a histogram that matches the start and end times of the tasks rather than being 'rounded' up to whole days?

I have included a couple of images to illustrate what we need.

These images also show that weekend working is not covered by the histogram. I assume weekend working can be enabled.

Many thanks
Attachments
Required Histogram.png
This shows the histogram we need where the higher allocation period matches the times of the shorter task. Also includes weekend working.
Required Histogram.png (12.67 KiB) Viewed 3347 times
Current Histogram.png
This illustrates our current histogram where a task that runs for part of the day allocates resource for the whole day on the histogram. No weekend working.
Current Histogram.png (10.86 KiB) Viewed 3347 times

User avatar
pmiklashevich
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 1728
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:08 am

Re: Increase time resolution of resource histogram

Post by pmiklashevich » Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:01 pm

Can you please provide a runnable test case or reproduce the issue with our samples?
Pavel Miklashevich - Core Developer

User avatar
Jeff Bevan
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 2:02 pm

Re: Increase time resolution of resource histogram

Post by Jeff Bevan » Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:53 am

Hi Pavel
I have had some success. But I'm still unclear what the histogram should show.

To help me understand I have simplified the histogram example from the gantt-pro-4.2.4 release replacing the app.js and data.js files which I have attached. In this example there are 2 overlapping tasks (which can be dragged) and 2 resources that share the tasks between them. I've attached an image of the histograms generated and a mock-up of what we expected.

I'm hoping I have missed a key bit of code, configuration, or data, from the example that will give us our required histogram.
Attachments
data.js
Application data
(1.12 KiB) Downloaded 145 times
app.js
Application code
(2.22 KiB) Downloaded 151 times
My Example Histogram Screenshot.png
Example screenshot
My Example Histogram Screenshot.png (60.57 KiB) Viewed 3323 times

User avatar
pmiklashevich
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 1728
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:08 am

Re: Increase time resolution of resource histogram

Post by pmiklashevich » Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:59 pm

Sounds like a bug. Thank you for the report. The ticket has been created: https://app.assembla.com/spaces/bryntum/tickets/4259
Pavel Miklashevich - Core Developer

User avatar
Jeff Bevan
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 2:02 pm

Re: Increase time resolution of resource histogram

Post by Jeff Bevan » Fri May 12, 2017 11:25 am

Can you confirm if this bug has been fixed in a later release? We were using Gantt chart v4.2.4.

User avatar
pmiklashevich
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 1728
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:08 am

Re: Increase time resolution of resource histogram

Post by pmiklashevich » Mon May 15, 2017 10:50 am

Hello, this ticket has not been fixed yet. But it's on our radar. We will tell you as soon when it will be done.
Pavel Miklashevich - Core Developer

User avatar
Ailytic
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 8:27 am

Re: Increase time resolution of resource histogram

Post by Ailytic » Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:31 am

Has this ticket been fixed? Just checking as this is affecting us as well.

User avatar
pmiklashevich
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 1728
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:08 am

Re: Increase time resolution of resource histogram

Post by pmiklashevich » Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:23 am

Hello, I'm afraid this ticket hasn't been fixed yet. Please contact sales@bryntum.com to raise the priority.
Pavel Miklashevich - Core Developer

User avatar
pmiklashevich
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 1728
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:08 am

Re: Increase time resolution of resource histogram

Post by pmiklashevich » Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:50 am

I've checked the Histogram demo again. Seems the demo works correct. So it might be wrong data passed to the previous test case. Have you faced with this issue yourself? Could you please provide your own test case so we can take a look? Are you using the latest Gantt 5.x ?
Pavel Miklashevich - Core Developer

User avatar
Terence
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 1521
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:23 pm

Re: Increase time resolution of resource histogram

Post by Terence » Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:57 pm

We discussed this issue internally. We changed this ticket status to Feature Request. Now the histogram granulates on days by design.

It should be considered to granulate on current zoomlevel or to be able to pass the granulation by config.

Post Reply